Archive for July 24th, 2008

Message to all children from Mrs Swale!

July 24, 2008

As I am leaving my job as Lower School Leader this week, I would just like to say that St Mark’s is a fantastic school to work in and it has been a real pleasure to teach such great children.

I am retiring from my job because I want to spend more time with my family and help my elderly father, but if all goes well, I might also be able to do some supply teaching at St Mark’s next term.

I have been teaching for thirty five years and if you count the time I was at school (east Harnham School and then South Wilts, followed by college in Exeter) I have actually been in school/education for fifty one years  That’s a very long time, so it’s definitely time for me to take a break!

Retiring doesn’t mean putting your feet up and reading the paper!  I am going to brush up on my French, do lots of sewing, walk and cycle a lot and hopefully more swimming.  All this to think about and look after my family and possibly do some supply work.

Moving on is always quite sad, but equally exciting.  I look at it like chapters in a book and moving to the next chapter brings different challenges, opportunities and hopes.

I will be visiting St. Mark’s quite often and I hope certainly to see the Lower School Christmas Production.  This is just one of the many events I will particularly miss.

One of my projects for the Summer Holiday is to make a new cloth for the table at the front of the Hall in Assembly, so when I have finished it I will come into Assembly one afternoon in September with Mrs Wraight and present it to the school.  I already have one or two good ideas about its design.

I will stay in contact and definitely keep you updated with any news on the Blog.  Have a great holiday everyone and remember to work hard in September for your new teacher!

Mrs Swale